Directorist has a settings tab/page ( Directorist Listings > Directorist Settings > Form Fields) for customizing all fields of the add listing page.
Making a field required
Go to Directorist Listings > Directorist Settings > Form Fields page. You will see all of the default form fields names with some options to customize them. Set the ‘Required‘ option of any field to YES to make it required for any user to fill before submitting a listing. For example, we have set the Title form field as required in the following screenshot. You can make any form fields as required like this.
Changing the label of a field
Changing the label of any form fields is very easy. Just Change the value in the label field of a form field in the Form Fields settings page. See the screenshot below to see how you can change the label of the Title field as an example.
Hiding a form field
You can hide a form field by setting the “Only for Admin Use” option to “Yes“. Only admin will see this field in the back-end add listing form but this field will be hidden/excluded from the front-end add-listing form for all users.
Here is a short description of all fields available settings. A field may have all or some of the following controls depending on the field type.
- Label: This option lets you modify the display label of any form field in the add listing form.
- Required: This option lets you make a field required for a user to fill before submitting the add-listing form. Available values are Yes and NO.
- Only For Admin Use: This option lets hide a form field from the front-end add-listing form for all users if you set it to YES value.
- Display: This option is available for optional fields. You can control whether to display those fields in the add-listing form or not using this control. Set it to YES to display the field and set it to NO to completely exclude this the field from the form.
- Multi-Location for User: Set this to YES to allow users to select more than one location for a listing before submitting. Set it to NO if you want users to select a single location for a listing.
Category, Location & Tag:
- Users can create new tag in add listing form if admin give allow, but they can’t create new location & category. They only can use location & category.
- User can add multiple location. tag & category. But admin can control multiple creating for location & category.
If admin allows excerpt on form fields, then he must enable “Display Excerpt” option from “Directorist Settings”=> “Form Fields”. Because without enable “Display Excerpt”, it does not show in All Listings page.
User & admin use map after enable map in form fields settings. Admin can disable map for users via enable “Only For Admin Use” option. Admin can control total map system from “Directorist Settings” => “Listings Settings” => “Map Settings”.
- Max Image Limit: If admin allow 5 max image limit. Then users can upload highest 5 images. They can’t upload more than 5 images.
- Max Upload Size in MB: If admin allow 2 MB Max Upload Size. Then users can upload maximum 2 MB with all image ( It means all image = 2 MB size). Its not per image size, its total image size.
Using Terms & Conditions
If you accept listing submission from public users then you may have some terms and conditions for submitting a listing on your website. You can display the terms & conditions for a listing to your user to agree before submitting the add-listing form very easily.
On Directorist Listings > Directorist Settings > Form Fields page. You will find the TERMS AND CONDITIONS section at the bottom of the page. You will find the following options.
- Enable Terms & Conditions: Set this control to “YES” to display terms and conditions checkbox on the front-end add-listing form. However, users will still be able to submit a listing without checking the checkbox field of Terms & Conditions. To make it mandatory for a user to agree to the terms & conditions of your website see the next option.
Displaying terms and conditions
- Required: Set this option to YES to make it mandatory for a user to agree to your terms & conditions before submitting the form. Users will not be able to submit the listing without agreeing to the terms & conditions. Rather a message will be displayed to the user like in the following image.